Governor Chris Gregoire announced Friday her appointments for the Exchange Board of Directors. As laid out in Substitute Senate Bill 5445, twenty nominations for this Board were submitted by the house and senate caucuses and included individuals with expertise in individual health care coverage, small employer health care coverage, health benefits plan administration, health care finance and economics, actuarial science, and/or administering a public or private health care delivery system.

The governor’s appointments include:

• Steve Appel, wheat and barley farmer and immediate past-President of the Washington Farm Bureau
• Bill Baldwin, Partner, The Partners Group
• Don Conant, General Manager at Valley Nut and Bolt in Olympia and Assistant Professor in the School of Business at St. Martin’s University
• Doug Conrad, Professor of Health Services at the University of Washington School of Public Health
• Melanie Curtice, partner in the employee benefits section at the law firm of Stoel Rives LLP
• Dr. Ben Danielson, Medical Director at the Odessa Brown Children’s Clinic
• Phil Dyer, Senior Vice President at Kibble & Prentice/USI and former state legislator
• Teresa Mosqueda, Legislative and Policy Director for the Washington State Labor Council and Chair of the Healthy Washington Coalition

As chair, the governor appointed Margaret Stanley, retired Executive Director of the Puget Sound Health Alliance, and former Senior Vice-President at Regence BlueShield and head of public employee benefits programs in both Washington and California. In addition to these nine appointees, the insurance commissioner and the administrator of the Health Care Authority will sit on the Board as nonvoting members. On March 15th, 2012, the Board will assume governing authority over the Exchange.

Gregoire was enthusiastic about the appointments, stating “This is a well-rounded and extremely knowledgeable group of people. They are committed to making the Exchange work for the people of Washington, and I have no doubt that under Margaret’s leadership they will succeed. I want to thank them for their willingness to serve, and the legislature for providing such a quality list of nominees from which I had to choose.”