The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation today announced 32 pilot “Pioneer ACOs“.

It appears there was not a single entity on the award list from Washington, Alaska, Oregon or Idaho.  From the release.

“The Pioneer ACO Model will test the effectiveness of several innovative payment models and how they can help experienced organizations to provide better care for beneficiaries, work in coordination with private payers, and reduce Medicare cost growth.  The Pioneer ACO Model also requires ACOs to engage other payers in similar efforts to reward health care providers that deliver high-quality care.”

Of note, however, is that the list of groups is relatively diverse in terms of organizational structure, including at least one independent physician organization (IPA), Physician Health Partners.

Below are the selected organizations:

  1. Allina Hospitals & Clinics
  2. Atrius Health
  3. Banner Health Network
  4. Bellin-Thedacare Healthcare Partners
  5. Beth Israel Deaconess Physician Organization
  6. Bronx Accountable Healthcare Network (BAHN)
  7. Brown & Toland Physicians
  8. Dartmouth-Hitchcock ACO
  9. Eastern Maine Healthcare System
  10. Fairview Health Systems
  11. Franciscan Alliance
  12. Genesys PHO
  13. Healthcare Partners Medical Group
  14. Healthcare Partners of Nevada
  15. Heritage California ACO
  16. JSA Medical Group, a division of HealthCare Partners
  17. Michigan Pioneer ACO
  18. Monarch Healthcare
  19. Mount Auburn Cambridge Independent Practice Association (MACIPA)
  20. North Texas ACO
  21. OSF Healthcare System
  22. Park Nicollet Health Services
  23. Partners Healthcare
  24. Physician Health Partners
  25. Presbyterian Healthcare Services – Central New Mexico Pioneer Accountable Care Organization
  26. Primecare Medical Network
  27. Renaissance Medical Management Company
  28. Seton Health Alliance
  29. Sharp Healthcare System
  30. Steward Health Care System
  31. TriHealth, Inc.
  32. University of Michigan