Abbot announces District Three and District Four medical board appointees

Governor Greg Abbott announced new Texas Medical Board Review Committee appointees for Districts Three and Four Thursday. Following the announcements of his District One and District Two appointments last month, this new batch of appointees completes Abbott’s assignments to the Texas Medical Board for this year.



The appointees for District Three are:

Celeste Caballero, M.D.

Caballero is a pediatrician with Covenant Medical Group. She is also a member of the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Texas Medical Association. 

Mindi McLain

McLain is a partner and attorney with Wright Law TX, PLLC. She is a member of the State Bar of Texas, the Amarillo Area Bar Association and Texas Panhandle Women, and serves on the West Texas A&M University Enterprise Center Executive Council. She is also vice president of the Board of Directors of the Texas Panhandle Regional Development Corporation.

Ogechika “Oge” Alozie, M.D.

Alozie is an infectious diseases physician in El Paso. He is a member of the Infectious Diseases Society of America, the Texas Medical Association, the American College of Physicians and the El Paso Medical Society. He is also board certified in Clinical Informatics and serves as a gubernatorial appointee on the Task Force on Infectious Disease Preparedness and Response.

Taylor Gillig

Gillig is the Chief Executive Office and Co-Founder of The Cookery. He is also a United States Marine combat veteran, having served as an Infantry Officer in Afghanistan. He is also a member of the Greater Arlington Chamber of Commerce, the Professional Chapter of the Adam Smith Society, the American Legion and the Elks.

Gabrielle Rich, D.O.

Rich is an obstetrician and gynecologist with the Scenic Mountain Medical Group. She is also a member of the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology, the Texas Medical Association and the Midland Rape Crisis and Children’s Advocacy Center. 

Michael Burley

Burley is the Regional Administrator for Region VI in the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. He previously served as Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy Director of the Office of Presidential Personnel in the White House.

Sharmila Dissanaike, M.D.

Dissanaike is the Peter C. Canizaro Chair of the Department of Surgery at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. She is a Governor of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) and serves on the national Committee for Ethics and the Advisory Council for Rural Surgery. She serves on the Board of the American Burn Association, the Southwest Surgical Congress and the Lubbock Medical Society, and she represents the American Medical Association on the Residency Review Committee for Surgery for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). She is also a member of the Texas Surgical Society and the former president of the North Texas Chapter of ACS.

The appointees for District Four are:

Ada Booth, M.D.

Booth is a Child Abuse Pediatrician with the Child Abuse Resource and Evaluation team at Driscoll Children’s Hospital. She is also a member of the Texas Pediatric Society, the Nueces County Medical Society, the Corpus Christi Pediatrics Society, the Coastal Bend Child Fatality Review Team and the Ray E. Helfer Society.

Walton “Boyd” Bush, Ed.D.

Bush is a recently retired Executive Director of the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners. He is also the former Assistant Director for Field Operations with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, and is a member of the American Association of Dental Boards.

Leanne Burnett, M.D.

Burnett most recently served as a neurologist at Clear Lake Houston Methodist Hospital. She is also a member of the American Academy of Neurology, the Texas Medical Association, the Harris County Medical Association and the Houston Area Parkinson’s Society.

Phillip “Phil” Worley

Worley is an adjunct instructor at Laredo College, and previously served as the Dean of the Arts and Humanity at Laredo College. He is also a former member of the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation and the Bruni Lions Club.

Ruth Villarreal

Villarreal is the owner of the Ruth Villarreal Insurance Agency. She is also a board member of the South Texas Independent School District and has sponsored numerous Hidalgo County charitable and community organizations such as the Breast Cancer Awareness Walk, the Diabetes Awareness Fair and various school and community food drives.

Andrew “Jimmy” Widmer, M.D.

Widmer is a General Internist for Baylor Scott and White Health. He is also a member of the American College of Physicians, the Texas Medical Association and the Bell County Medical Society.