Speaker Kotek announces committee assignments and new special committees

Oregon House Speaker Tina Kotek on Thursday announced the new House committee assignments for the 2021 Legislative Session. The list includes membership changes to the House’s health-related committees and new special committees dedicated to wildfire recovery and redistricting.


Get the latest state-specific policy intelligence for the health care sector delivered to your inbox.


Rep. Rachel Prusak will take over as Chair of the House Health Care Committee after having served as Vice Chair during the 2019-2020 session. Former Chair Rep. Andrea Salinas will join Rep. Cedric Hayden as Vice Chair.

Rep. Alissa Keny Guyer, who announced her retirement last January, and Rep. Rob Nosse will no longer serve on the Health Care Committee, while freshman legislator Wlnsvey Campos will become its newest member.

Kotek’s announcement also includes the introduction of the Subcommittee on COVID-19, which will be Chaired by Rep. Maxine Dexter. Hayden will serve as Vice Chair with Campos, Moore-Green, and Salinas as members.

The Behavioral Health Committee will also see new leadership with Rep. Tawna Sanchez taking over as Chair. Nosse will continue as Vice Chair and Moore-Green will replace Hayden as the other Vice Chair.

The 2021 Legislative Session will also feature three new special committees: The Modernizing the People’s Legislature Committee, the Wildfire Recovery Committee, and the Redistricting Committee.

“Oregonians are facing crises that demand urgent action. The House is ready to lead on the issues that matter most in people’s lives right now. We also need to create the space to have a focused conversation about long-term, transformational changes to modernize the people’s legislature,” Speaker Kotek said in a statement. “I’m grateful for the diverse perspectives that my colleagues will bring as we all work together to help Oregonians navigate the big challenges that lie ahead.”

The 2021 Legislative Session will officially begin January 19.