OHSU names three finalists in search for President

OHSU names three finalists in search for President

The OHSU Board of Directors has named three finalists for the position of OHSU president. Current President Joe Robertson has held the position for 12 years. The board received 25 initial candidates for the position. The three finalists will visit the OHSU campus in the next two weeks.

The three finalists are:

Jay Hess, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Hess is the vice president for university clinical affairs and dean of the school of medicine at Indiana University. His faculty appointments include professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine and adjunct professor of Health Policy and Management.

Previously he held roles at the University of Michigan, University of Pennsylvania and Washington University in St. Louis.

His research interests include epigenetic regulation of transcription and its disruption in disease, development of mechanism-based therapies for acute leukemia, and applications of next generation sequencing to clinical diagnostics and personalized medicine.

He received his M.D. and Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University and his M.H.S.A. from University of Michigan.

Danny Jacobs, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.S.

Dr. Jacobs is the executive vice president, provost and dean of the school of medicine at the University of Texas Medical Branch. His current faculty appointments include professorships in the Institute for Translational Sciences as well as the Departments of Surgery and Preventive Medicine and Community Health.

Previously he held faculty appointments at the University of Pennsylvania, Harvard, Creighton University and Duke.

His research interests include: the metabolic effects of malnutrition, stress, infection, and injury; NMR applications in organ function, bioenergetics and metabolism; and, specific nutrients and growth factors in enteral and parenteral nutritional support.

He received his M.D. from Washington University in St. Louis and his M.P.H. from Harvard.

Laura Roberts, M.D., M.A.

Dr. Roberts is professor and chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University School of Medicine and Chief of Psychiatry for Stanford Health Care.

She has also held major clinical and academic leadership roles at the Medical College of Wisconsin and University of New Mexico.

Her research includes studies of ethics and policy issues in scientific innovation, health disparities, clinical medicine, and health professions education. She has more than 350 scholarly publications and has edited 25 books.

She received her M.D. and M.A. at the University of Chicago and her psychiatry training at the University of New Mexico.